Vicky Chow: Piano

What: Vicky Chow presents a suite of solo piano works featuring both New York and world premieres from top composers in the new music world.
When: Thursday, October 27, 2016, 8pm
Where: Roulette, 509 Atlantic Ave Brooklyn, 2/3/4/5/A/C/G/D/M/N/R/B/Q trains & the LIRR
Cost: $20/15 Online $25/20 Doors
Info: / (917) 267-0368
Tickets: General Admission $20, Members/Students/Seniors $15, $25/20 Tickets at the door

Brooklyn, NY – Canadian pianist Vicky Chow premieres new solo piano works by Rome prize winner composer Christopher Cerrone, Fjola Evans, David Brynjar Franzson, and Bang on a Can founders David Lang, Julia Wolfe, and Michael Gordon.

Described as “brilliant” by The New York Times and a “new star of new music” by Los Angeles Times, Vicky Chow is the pianist for Bang on a Can All-Stars, Grand Band, New Music Detroit, and has collaborated with ensembles such as ICE and Wet Ink Ensemble. She has performed internationally in Asia, Australia, Europe and North America, including esteemed venues such as Carnegie Hall in New York, Barbican Centre in London, Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam, and Tongyeong Concert Hall in Korea.

In 2013, she gave the North American premiere of Steve Reich’s work “Piano Counterpoint,” the world premiere of John Zorn’s new piano trio “The Aristos,” Michael Gordon’s “Ode to La Bruja, Hanon, Czerny, Van Cliburn and little gold stars” written for Grand Band, and an evening length work by artist and composer Tristan Perich for solo piano and 40 channel 1-bit electronics titled “Surface Image,” presented at Roulette.


Christopher Cerrone – The Arching Path (2016) *
Fjola Evans – New Work (2016) **
David Brynjar Franzson – New Work (2016) **
David Lang – “cage,” “beach” (1997) and new work (2016) **
Julia Wolfe – Compassion (2001)
Michael Gordon – Sonatra (2004) (pre-record release performance)

* New York Premiere
** World Premiere