Andrew Lafkas “1+1=year zero(water/moon)” Jerome Commission

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 @ 8:00 pm

Composer and doublebassist Andrew Lafkas presents a vibrant new work written specifically for this dynamic nine-piece ensemble, which reflects his interest in charting the unexplored ranges of collective intuition:

Barry Weisblat – radio
Adam Diller – bass clarinet
Tucker Dulin – trombone
Karen Waltuch – viola
Jason Brogan – electric guitar
Ron Stabinsky – piano
Leif Sundstrom – percussion
Sean Meehan – percussion
Andrew Lafkas – bass

Andrew Lafkas is a composer and musician living in New York. He is currently focused on developing pieces that encourage group intuition, which was greatly inspired and influenced by experiences working in groups led by Milo Fine and by Bill Dixon. He has performed at venues and festivals including The Walker Art Center, The Living Theatre, Experimental Intermedia, The Vision Festival, and The Seattle Improvised Music Festival.

Andrew Lafkas’s performance is made possible with support from Jerome Foundation.