Elliott Sharp’s SysOrk

Wednesday, March 12, 2014. 8:00 pm

Elliott Sharp’s SysOrk
Performances on March 12th and 13th 

SS B 9smExcerpt from Sylva Sylvarum

“Flexagons Excerpt 2” from Orchestra Carbon Concert Oct. 5 by Elliott Sharp 

SysOrk is a large ensemble dedicated to performing algorithmic scores, graphic notation, and conductions created by composer and multi-instrumentalist Elliott Sharp.

Sharp is the 2015 winner of the Berlin Prize in Music Composition.  His recent string quartets Tranzience and Mare Undarum have been premiered by JACK and Sirius quartets and violin virtuoso Hilary Hahn has been performing Storm of the Eye, a work commissioned by her.For this first NYC concert of SysOrk, the ensemble will premiere the projected graphic score Sylva Sylvarum as well as performing Flexagons, an algorithmic score composed in 2011.

SysOrk is neither fixed in personnel nor location but instead is situationally based. SysOrk debuted in December 2012 with concerts in Nagoya and Tokyo performing Sharp’s graphic score Foliage.

SysOrk for this concert will include:
Andrew Drury – drums, percussion
Terry Greene – trombone
James Ilgenfritz – contrabass
Judith Insell – viola
Ron Lawrence – viola
Tim Leopold – trumpet
Jenny Lin – piano
Chris McIntyre – trombone
Oscar Noriega – reeds
Jessica Pavone- viola
Reuben Radding – contrabass
Danny Tunick – percussion, vibraphone
Elliott Sharp – electroacoustic guitar, bass clarinet