Mysterium – An Electric Soundpainting Septet

Monday, November 23, 2009. 8:30 pm

Mysterium – An Electric Soundpainting Septet is the third and latest configuration in percussionist Eric Eigner’s ongoing Mysterium Continuum. It’s aim is to harness the vibrancy, creativity and spirit of improvised music into and through the compositional process, itself improvisational in performance, of Soundpainting. Soundpainting is the universal live composing sign language system created by New York composer Walter Thompson for musicians, dancers, actors, poets, and visual artists working in the medium of structured improvisation. It is one of the best systems that allow the player(s) the freedom to improvise while still achieving intentional structural compositional elements. As an additional challenge, we have set for ourselves to make this band somewhat of a dance band.

Eric John Eigner – Drumset
James Ilgenfritz – Electric Bass
Adam Caine – Electric Guitar
Ryan Snow – Trombone
Jeremy Danneman – Alto/Baritone Sax
Lorenzo Sanguedolce – Tenor Sax
Evan Mazunik – Soundpainter