Vision Festival: Ingrid Laubrock / Jason Kao Hwang / Dianne McIntyre / Heroes are Gang Leaders / D.D. Jackson

Sunday, June 16, 2019. 5:30 pm


Vision Festival: Ingrid Laubrock / Jason Kao Hwang / Dianne McIntyre / Heroes are Gang Leaders / D.D. Jackson at Roulette 2019

Vision Festival: Ingrid Laubrock / Jason Kao Hwang / Dianne McIntyre / Heroes are Gang Leaders / D.D. Jackson

Sunday, June 16, 2019. 5:30 pm

The final night at the Vision Festival features a tribute to baritone saxophone pioneer Hamiet Bluiett, assembled by pianist D.D. Jackson and featuring Bluiett’s mentees and contemporaries, including James Carter, Darius Jones, William Parker, Ronnie Burrage, and Juma Sultan. German visual artist Jorgo Schäfer collaborates with hornist Vincent Chancey’s trio to present his performance art piece Dance of the Comedians. Violinist Jason Kao Hwang presents new compositions with his Human Rites Trio of longtime associates Ken Filiano and Andrew Drury. The esteemed dancer/choreographer Dianne McIntyre makes her first appearance at the Vision Festival. In the tradition of the protest song, Heroes are Gang Leaders combine jazz, groove, and black hollerin with spoken word. Frequent collaborators Ingrid Laubrock, Sylvie Courvoisier, Mark Feldman, and Tom Rainey come together as a rare quartet performance.

Tom Rainey: drums
Ingrid Laubrock: sax
Sylvie Courvoisier: piano
Mark Feldman: violin

Jason Kao Hwang Human Rites Trio
Jason Kao Hwang: violin
Ken Filiano: bass
Andrew Drury: drums

Jorgo Schäfer Dance of the Comedians
Jorgo Schäfer: visual art
Vincent Chancey: french horn
Joe Fonda: bass
Jeremy Carlstedt: drums

Dianne McIntyre with Amina Claudine Myers
Dianne McIntyre: choreography, dance
Amina Claudine Myers: composition, piano, vocals
Careitha Davis: dance
Matia Johnson: dance

Heroes are Gang Leaders
Thomas Sayers Ellis: poetry, bandleader
James Brandon Lewis: tenor saxophone
Melanie Dyer: viola
Luke Stewart: bass
Jenna Camille: keyboards, vocals
Randall Horton: poet
Devin Brahja Waldman: alto saxophone, synthesizer
Bonita Penn: poet
Nettie Chickering: vocals
Brandon Moses: guitar
Warren “Trae” Crudup: drums

D.D. Jackson Bluiett Tribute Band
D.D. Jackson: piano
James Carter: baritone sax
Darius Jones: alto sax
William Parker: bass
Ronnie Burrage: drums
Juma Sultan: percussion


The Vision Festival is a celebration of boundless improvised art. Now in its 24th year, this festival of music, dance, poetry, and visual art is heralded as “one of New York’s most essential art events” (New York Times). Legendary and emerging stars representing the free jazz, experimental, and avant-garde communities will perform 30 sets over six nights.

Founded in 1996, festival presenter Arts For Art (AFA) is a New York City-based tax exempt organization dedicated to the promotion and advancement of free jazz — an American indigenous art form in which improvisation is principle.

The Vision Festival is a co-production between Arts for Art and Roulette. The festival is made possible in part thanks to public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts (NYSCA) with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the city council. This project is supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts. Support through New Music USA’s NYC New Music Impact Fund is made possible with funding from The Scherman Foundation’s Katharine S. and Axel G. Rosin Fund. This program is made possible in part thanks to the Howard Gilman Foundation and the Jacob and Ruth Epstein Foundation.

Photo: Caroline Mardok, Heroes are Gang Leaders by Frances Charteris