Tag: Ar Braf

Matt Lavelle and the 12 Houses Orchestra

What: Matt Lavelle and the 12 Houses Orchestra draw upon the talents of rapper A.R.B.R.A.F. and trombonist Art Baron to present a Duke Ellington-inspired performance.
When: Sunday, September 25, 2016, 8pm
Where: Roulette, 509 Atlantic Ave Brooklyn, 2/3/4/5/A/C/G/D/M/N/R/B/Q trains & the LIRR
Cost: $20/15 Online $25/20 Doors
Info: www.roulette.org / (917) 267-0368
Tickets: General Admission $20, Members/Students/Seniors $15, $25/20 Tickets at the door

Brooklyn, NY – Roulette presents the first major concert hall performance from Matt Lavelle and the 12 Houses Orchestra. Deeply influenced by Duke Ellington, Lavelle’s spiritual compositions bring out the best in the individual members of the band. Taking a cue from Charles Mingus and John Coltrane‘s musical protests, the 12 Houses Orchestra aims to confront today’s reality through music. Drawing upon the talents of rap artist A.R.B.R.A.F. (Akustyx Rhythm Beats Rhymes and Flows), the 12 Houses Orchestra uses voice as an instrument unto itself. The ensemble will be joined by special guest and Duke Ellington alumni trombone master Art Baron.

Based in New York City and lead by Matt Lavelle, The 12 Houses is a multicultural and multigenerational large music ensemble. Described by Lavelle as “Ornette Coleman meets William Parker at Duke Ellington’s house,” the female-centric ensemble originated from an assignment given to Lavelle by Ornette Coleman. Credited by new breakthroughs within the spheres of jazz, The 12 Houses released their debut record, Solidarity, on Unseen Rain Records.


Matt Lavelle – Trumpet, alto clarinet, bass clarinet
Leader, Composer, and Arranger

Art Baron – Trombone
Ar Braf-Brafmatic – Rap

Nicole Davis – Trumpet
Anders Nilsson – Guitar
Tom Cabrera – Drums (1st set)
Alex Hamburger – Baritone sax
Stephanie Griffin – Viola
Jeremy Carlstedt – Drums (2nd set)
Ras Moshe – Tenor sax, flute
Gil Selinger – Cello
Jack DeSalvo – Guitar, Banjo
Charles Waters – Alto sax, clarinet
Francois Grillot – Bass
Sweet Lee Odom – Soprano sax, clarinet
Chris Forbes – Piano
Mary Cherney – Flutes
Julie Lyon –  Voice