Zeena Parkins: LACE BOX SET VOL 1

Thursday, April 8, 2021. 8:00 pm

Roulette’s Spring 2021 Season will be live streamed from our stage and archived on our website. Watch the video of this performance below.


Zeena Parkins: LACE BOX SET VOL 1

Thursday, April 8, 2021. 8:00 pm

Zeena Parkins returns to Roulette to present two new works: LACE_Mvt. IV and DeFeo_Episode 1, Somewhere on a Slow Curve. LACE_Mvt. IV is part of an ongoing project begun in 2008, that was originally commissioned by the Merce Cunningham Dance Studio. The trio Green Dome, with Ryan Sawyer and Ryan Rose Smith, is working with a set of 10 pieces of lace, whose stitches, their order and disorder, constitute a musical score, toggling between dangerous obsession and bewitchment. The sound world extends into threads of feedback and the sounds of lacemakers at work, from Magalas, France.

DeFeo_Episode 1, Somewhere on a Slow Curve is the first iteration of a new project that will see episodes unfurl over the next two years. Parkins will be joined by vocalist Megan Schubert to perform sixty-four miniatures which take inspiration from Jay DeFeo’s masterwork The Rose. The painting emphasizes a profound relationship with a heavily worked surface, through thinness and thickness, gouged and re-gouged, layering, scraping, doing/re-doing, for eight years of DeFeo’s life. Nothing arbitrary, whatsoever about these millions of changes. DeFeo’s persistence and willingness to inhabit this slow process resulted in a massive 2,000-pound painting with magnetic pull, called The Rose. The Rose offers texture, timbre, scale, instability, longevity, and devotion, with the desire to see and be seen.

LACE_MOVMENT IV with Green Dome
Zeena Parkins: acoustic harp, electronics, field recordings, feedback
Ryan Sawyer: drums, feedback
Ryan Ross Smith: prepared piano, electronics, feedback

DeFeo, Episode 1, Somewhere on a Slow Curve
Zeena Parkins: electric harp and objects + Megan Schubert: voice and objects

This performance was originally scheduled for Spring 2020, but was postponed and rescheduled due to Covid-19. Roulette’s Fall season will be presented virtually and available for free on a variety of streaming platforms. Our theater is currently closed for public performances as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic and the safety measures that Roulette has put in place to keep staff, artists, and the public safe.

Electro-acoustic composer/performer, multi-instrumentalist, improviser, and pioneer of contemporary harp performance, Zeena Parkins re-imagines both the acoustic harp and an evolution of her original electric ones, through the use of expanded playing techniques, preparations, and custom designed processing. Awards include Doris Duke Artist Award, DAAD Fellowship, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, MAP Fund grants NYFA Fellowship, Atlantic Center for the Arts Master Artist-in-Residence, Herb Alpert/Ucross Prize, Honorary Mention/Prix Ars Electronica, and three New York Dance and Performance Awards/ Bessies for her groundbreaking work with dance. Zeena Parkins is a Distinguished Visiting Artist at Mills College in Oakland, California.

The LACE PROJECT has been funded by the Doris Duke Artist award. SOMEWHERE ON A SLOW CURVE is being supported by the Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship in Composition.

Photo: Glen DiCrocco, Claire Paul