Jim Staley, La Donna Smith and Davey Williams 1987

Thursday, February 12, 1987. 8:30 pm
“Improvising trio for violin and voice, trombone and electric guitar.” Jim Staley trombonist and composer utilizing the trombone in […]

Bill Frisell, Ikue Mori, Jim Staley

Sunday, December 7, 1986. 9:00 pm
The celebrated guitarist (Norah Jones, Paul Simon) in formative pieces for solo electric, acoustic guitars, and banjo then joined by […]

Bill Horvitz

Friday, December 5, 1986. 9:00 pm
The guitarist/composer with a 12-piece ensemble combining improvisation and composed material, with Elliot Sharp, Bobby Previte, George […]

Joel Forrester

Thursday, December 4, 1986. 9:00 pm
“Beyond Doubt?” is an evening of odd-natured songs, rambling piano works, and circular essays, with Shelley Hirsch, voice, and David […]

David Garland

Wednesday, December 3, 1986. 9:00 pm
The singer/songwriter teams with accordionist Guy Klucevsek to perform “Control Songs” and some new and old favorites.

Guy Yarden / Borbetomagus

Sunday, November 23, 1986. 9:00 pm
Violinist Yarden steers electronics and saxophonist Doug Henderson through improvs and compositions plus a visit by the industrial blowfest team […]

Liof Munimula

Saturday, November 22, 1986. 9:00 pm
Chicago’s masters of hypo-mutation in a remarkable free-style trio of painter/radiologist Dan Meckley, renegade violin virtuoso Daniel […]

Glen Velez

Friday, November 21, 1986. 9:00 pm
A concert of original music for frame drums and other relatives of the tambourine, solo and ensemble.

Lesli Dalaba / Kumiko Kimoto

Thursday, November 20, 1986. 9:00 pm
“Edge of Night” is Dalaba’s trumpet, Jim Katzin on violin, Wayne Horvitz on keys, and C.K. Noyes on drums. Kimoto presents […]

Joseph Paul Taylor/John King

Wednesday, November 19, 1986. 9:00 pm
Taylor performs “Heraclitas,” a wide screen movie (audio portion only) for digital electronics and vocals, plus The King Kabaret for […]